CHRISTMAS LIGHTS

I know it has been a couple of months since Christmas but today I feel a little bit nostalgic and the ghost of Christmas Past appeared to me as my muse. And what is more christmassy than the lights? All the houses, streets and trees decorated creating that gloomy atmosphere and enhancing the Christmas spirit in each of us.
This last Christmas I was in England, particularly in the Cotswolds area and I couldn’t have been happier. The Cotswolds is a beautiful group of villages ( I will talk about them in another post) whose small houses, cosy pubs and spectacular landscapes were the perfect background for a magical Christmas. I was staying in a house in the middle of nowhere, next to one of the villages called Bourton-on-the-Water. The views couldn’t be better: I was surrounded by vast fields and the roads were lined with tall trees. I felt like I was in a fairytale!

On boxing day, we visited Blenheim Palace in Woodstock. Blenheim Palace was built in honour of the victory over the French in the War of the Spanish Succession and it was Sir Winston Churchill’s home. As Christmas is a special occasion, the Palace’s gardens were all decorated with breathtaking lights creating an eerie mise-en-scène that along with a hot chocolate from one of the stands, made me feel like I was in a Christmas tale.

The lights guided you through the gardens back to the Palace. They were in the small lampposts typical of Narnia books, in the tall and magnificent trees and on the fields producing a multi-colour and enchanting aura. There was one in particular that reminded me of Alice in Wonderland when she follows the paths that the lights made although this time Alice was me and I was more in a Winter Wonderland. The climax point was the impressive waterfall. Its lights gave it a colourful and luminous aspect and it was the perfect background for a very festive photo.

So yes, my present self that is writing this post is feeling a bit sentimental herself and is scrolling down all the Christmas photos while remembering how special the holidays were this year. And I can’t stop smiling while I drink my hot chocolate.

” I will honour Christmas in my heart, and try to keep it all the year” Charles Dickens, A Christmas Carol. 

Leave a Reply

